top of page
Search
  • sierratakushi

Dear Dakar

Updated: Dec 9, 2019






Dear Dakar,


I write this letter to you as a love letter,

as a thank you,

as a goodbye-for-now.

I write this letter to you in the armchair

in the sunroom

in my Minneapolis home.

And I tremble a little.


I can't tell why I'm trembling -- whether it's from nostalgia for my month in your embrace

or if it's from the shock of being back in the United States. All I know is that the last few days have been hard without you. Without your honking cabs and sandy streets, your smiling people and their bare feet, I feel un-whole without you.

I feel un-whole without the shouts of French and Wolof resounding in the market. I feel un-whole without the smell of yassa on the stove. I feel un-whole without the salty Atlantic breeze wafting inland, without grains of sand stuck between my toes, without fishing boats and horned goats and carts selling loaves of bread. I feel un--whole without sweet heaps of mangoes, and eating them on the living room couch every night as Papa sipped his tea and nodded at the TV. I feel un-whole without Yaya, Maha, Jolie, and Momo. I feel un-whole without you, Dakar.




I didn't write much about you in the last week and half because I wanted to cherish every moment in your presence. I closed the tabs of my blog in my laptop and I opened my heart to you. In that time, you introduced me to Toubab Dialow, your cousin coastal town. There, I sat by the Atlantic, watching its crashing waves and praying that your lessons would settle within me for the rest of my life. I played soccer on the beach with local boys, who clapped their sandy hands against my palms when we scored and asked why they had never seen me before. I made a dyed batik cloth in the shade of a coconut-tree courtyard and I danced to the pounding rhythm of the live drummers. I laughed and cried and thought about your effect on me, your history, your country's story.


And now I tremble because it is so whack to be back in the US.


I arrived on the Fourth of July. And as all the people around me waved American flags against the blue Minnesota sky, I could only think about you.


I don't know what I'll tell people when they ask about you. I'm not ready to prepare a sixty-second-shpeal about what you taught me, what you showed me. I'm not ready to condense you into small talk, or simplify you into a passing comment.


Before I met you, some friends had said that you would change my life,

that you had already changed theirs. I'd nod and half-heartedly believe them.

But now, I know, I've seen, I've felt, what they had warned me about.

I love and miss you so much, Dakar. Thank you for your teranga.


See you someday again,

Sierra



Joseline, Will, and I went to The Monument of African Renaissance on the last day of being in Dakar. The view was surreal- as we looked over the entire city and reflected on our time in Senegal.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page